ASM Milestones in Microbiology

ASM logo

On October 26, 2013, the American Society for Microbiology designate the University of Connecticut a Milestones in Microbiology site.

(From the ASM website)

The Milestones designation of the University of Connecticut (UCONN) recognizes the accomplishments of Herbert William Conn, one of the founders of the Society of American Bacteriologists (now the American Society for Microbiology or ASM).

Conn’s major achievements include

  • Research in agricultural and dairy bacteriology carried out at the Storrs Agricultural Station
  • Establishment of Bacteriology as a separate academic discipline at the Connecticut Agricultural College
  • Leadership in public health microbiology
  • Effective communication of science to the public
  • Founding of the American Academy of Public Health
  • Founding of the Society of American Bacteriologists

The Milestones plaque (click for full size image)

The Milestones in Microbiology award recognizes the accomplishments of this remarkable microbiologist and the lasting impact his work has had in agricultural science, public health and education.

Gubernatorial Proclamation

Connecticut Governor Dannel P. Malloy provided a gubernatorial proclamation in honor of the designation and Professor Conn's achievements. The full text of the proclamation can be found here.

Symposium (photos)

A symposium was held hosting speakers who work in areas that were of interest to Prof. Conn. The speakers were:

Dr. Maria Marco, Food Science and Technology Department, University of California, Davis

Dr. Frederick Cohan, Biology Department, Wesleyan University

Dr. Joseph Petrosino, Department of Molecular Virology & Microbiology, Director of the Alkek Center for Metagenomics and Microbiome Research Baylor College of Medicine

Dr. Kenneth Noll, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of Connecticut

Symposium speakers1

From left to right, Drs. Noll, Marcus, Cohan and Petrosino

Milestones Dedeication Ceremony (photos)

A plaque was presented to the University to designate it a Milestones in Microbiology site.

Presentation guests LIGHTEN DSC 0159 edited-1

Left to right: Dr. Kahn, Dr. Cochrane, Dean TeItelbaum, Provost Choi, Mrs. Bolick, Mr. Bolick, Dr. Noll, Dr. Pouprad, and Dr. Maloy.

Several speakers were on hand for the ceremony, including:

Dr. James A. Poupard, Chair, Center for the History of Microbiology/ASM Archives, Pharma Institute of Philadelphia

Dr. Bruce Cochrane, Department of Zoology, Miami University, Great-grandson of Herbert W. Conn

Dr. Stanley Maloy, Dean, College of Sciences, San Diego State University, Past President, American Society for Microbiology

Dr. Mun Choi, Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, University of Connecticut

Members of Dr. Conn's family were also at the ceremony:

Dr. Bruce Cochrane, Department of Zoology, Miami University, Great-grandson of Herbert W. Conn

Dr. Alice Kahn, Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology, Miami University

Mr. Allen Bolick and Mrs. Berta Jo Bolick, Great-granddaughter of Herbert W. Conn

Other distinguished guests:

Dr. Jeremy Teitelbaum, Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, University of Connecticut

Dr. Ishita Mukerji, Dean, Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Wesleyan University

Dr. Doug Eveleigh, Chair, ASM Milestones in Microbiology Committee

Sister Noella Marcellino, Abbey of Regina Laudis, UConn PhD in Microbiology, 2003 winner of the French Food Spirit Award in Scientific Advancement

Anne Dempsey, ASM Membership Staff

Barbara Poupard, ASM Guest

Dr. Dorothea DiCecco, Professor Emeritus UCONN Waterbury

Contact me at:                                                                                                              © Kenneth Noll 2017